Applications invited from teachers for Head of Delegation position for International School Sport Federation Under 15 Basketball Cup Tour

posted on 19 December, 2019

School Sport Australia (SSA) is advertising for the Head of Delegation position to lead two schools representing School Sport Australia at the International School Sport Federation’s Under 15 Basketball Tour in Zadar, Croatia in March 2020.

School teachers interested in applying for this position should contact the School Sport Australia Office via email at: or calling the office on 03 9067 8600 to obtain the application form.

The roles and responsibilities for SSA International Tour positions may be found on the SSA website at:

The eligibility criteria for international tour official positions is contained in the International Tour Procedural Manual available at:

Applicants are advised that some costs will be incurred by them such as the requirement to purchase travel insurance commensurate with their circumstances.

Applicants from the Government sector must contact their Education Department and applicants from the Catholic or Independent sectors must contact their employer to identify what form of leave they will be required to apply for if they are appointed to the position. Applicants must be aware that some employers may not provide a leave category for the tour position so applicants will need to consider other categories of leave such as annual leave / long service leave / non paid leave. Applicants who are required to use categories such as annual / long service / non paid leave are advised they will not be covered by Work Safe nor will their employer be vicariously liable for their actions so they will need to ensure they have appropriate travel insurance.

It is noted that School Sport Australia does not cover costs such as those associated with schools replacing teachers appointed to the positions. Questions on teacher relief funding are to be addressed with the relevant State / Territory School Sport Unit.

Applications close at 5:00 PM (AEDT) on Friday, 10 January 2020.