12 YEARS BOYS & GIRLS CRICKET CHAMPIONSHIPS

Boys: THE CHALLENGE CUP.

One of the best wicketkeepers produced by Queensland and never to represent his country was Lew Cooper. Lew's whole life revolved around the sport of Cricket. Besides being Queensland's Sheffield Shield captain, Lew held many administrative positions in that State. Three of the more significant were: President-Queensland State Primary Schools Cricket Association, Secretary-Queensland Cricket Association and Secretary Queensland Cricket Club. When the Australia Day trophy for interstate primary cricket was accidently damaged beyond repair in the early 70's, Lew donated a replacement trophy which came to be known as the Challenge Cup. This is the prized trophy that interstate primary schools cricket teams aim to bring home to their states. A school teacher for many years in his younger days, Lew was one of the best coaches of a junior sporting team in Queensland in the past thirty-five years. A career highlight was when he coached a Queensland rugby league team that did not have a single point scored against them in a seven match tour of New South Wales.

Year	Venue	.,	NGE CUP WINNERS Winner(s)
1983	venue		Queensland
1984			New South Wales
1985	Adelaide	SA	New South Wales
		NSW	New South Wales/Queensland
1986 1987	Campbelltown Toowomba / Ipswich	QLD	New South Wales New South Wales
	Toowomba / ipswich	QLD	New South Wales/Queensland/South Australia
1988 1989			New South Wales New South Wales
1909			Queensland
1990	Adelaide	SA	
		VIC	Queensland Queensland
1992	Geelong	NT	
1993	Darwin		New South Wales
1994	Bundaberg	QLD	Queensland
1995	Tamworth	NSW	Queensland
1996	Adelaide	SA	Victoria/Queensland
1997	Geelong	VIC	Queensland
1998	Darwin	NT	New South Wales/Queensland/South Australia
1999	Gold Coast	QLD	Queensland
2000	Barooga	NSW	Victoria/Queensland
2001	Adelaide	SA	New South Wales/Victoria/Queensland
2002	Barooga	NSW	Queensland
2003	Darwin	NT	Queensland
2004	Bundaberg	QLD	NSW/Victoria
2005	Cobram/Barooga		Victoria
2006	Adelaide	SA	NSW
2007	Cobram/Barooga		Victoria
2008	Darwin	NT	New South Wales/Victoria
2009	Toowomba	QLD	New South Wales
2010	Canberra	ACT	Northern Territory
2011	Cobram/Barooga		
2012	Barossa Valley	SA	
2013	Bendigo	VIC	Victoria
2014	Darwin	NT	Queensland / Victoria
2015	Brisbane	QLD	Queensland
2016	Canberra	ACT	

Previous Players.

The following are among those players who played in an Australian School Sports Council Primary Cricket Exchange and have gone on to play for Australia in Test Cricket or One Day Internationals: Greg Blewett , Darren Lehmann, Jason Gillespie, Steve Waugh, Mark Waugh ,Steve Smith, Greg Mathews, Dirk Welham, Adam Gilchrist ,Michael Slater, Shane Lee, Brett Lee, Gavin Robinson, Nathan Bracken, Michael Clark, Craig McDermott, Ian Healy, Stuart Law, Martin Love, Wayde Seycombe, Michael Kasprowicvz, Phillip Jacques, Steve Smith, Phillip Hughes, David Warner.

SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS					
Grahame Barrett	NSW	2001			
Graham Mattner	SA	2001			
Kelly Masters	VIC	2002			
Brian Pearson	NT	2006			
Peter Finch	VIC	2007			
Sue Knight	ACT	2010			
Beth Hodge	NSW	2015			

Jason Ellsmore	NSW	2015
Kerry Cornford	SA	2015

Girls: THE GRAHAME BARRETT SHIELD.

This event commenced in January, 2000 with three States competing, NSW, Victoria and South Australia. The event was initially held at Manly NSW and the host State entered a second team to complete the draw. It was at this Exchange that the decision was taken to name the event after the NSWPSSA Cricket Convener, Grahame Barrett ,who had worked continuously to establish Girls Cricket, both in NSW and nationally. The following year NSW again hosted the event at Cobram/Barooga with the same teams participating however, in January 2002 the Australian Capital Territory entered for the first time and the Girls Exchange officially became a recognized School Sport Australia event. These four teams have competed since, with Queensland entered the Exchange for the first time in 2004.

GRAHAME BARRETT SHIELD WINNERS						
Year	Venue		Winner(s)			
1999	Gold Coast	QLD	New South Wales			
2000	Barooga	NSW	New South Wales			
2001	Adelaide	SA	New South Wales			
2002	Barooga	NSW	New South Wales			
2003	Darwin	NT	New South Wales			
2004	Bundaberg	QLD	New South Wales/ Victoria			
2005	Cobram/Barooga		Victoria			
2006	Adelaide	SA	New South Wales/Victoria/Queensland			
2007	Cobram/Barooga		Queensland			
2008	Darwin	NT	Victoria			
2009	Toowomba	QLD	New South Wales			
2010	Canberra	ACT	New South Wales			
2011	Cobram/Barooga					
2012	Barossa Valley	SA				
2013	Bendigo	VIC	New South Wales			
2014	Darwin	NT	New South Wales			
2015	Brisbane	QLD	New South Wales			
2016	Canberra	ACT				