

HISTORY OF THE BRUCE CUP

The Bruce Cup was donated by Henry (Harry) Adam Bruce in 1938 to encourage an interstate school tennis competition between Queensland and New South Wales.

New South Wales won the first event held in 1939. Harry Bruce was a Queensland politician who was elected to both the Queensland and Australian Parliaments. He was the Queensland Secretary of Public Instruction from 1938-41.

From 1939 until 1962 The Bruce Cup was an under 15 competition. In 1963 it became a primary school event when the Jack Pizzey Cup was introduced for secondary school competition. The event continued as a competition between Queensland and New South Wales until the 1980s when other states joined. The Bruce Cup is now a national competition with all eight states and territories competing.

The Bruce Cup has a long and proud tradition with many of Australia finest players beginning their international careers at this event. At the 1948 competition Ken Rosewall played Roy Emerson and met his future wife Wilma McIvor. Bill Gilmore, arguably Australia's finest tennis official was also a member of the NSW team. Rod Laver, our greatest male tennis player, represented Queensland in 1952. Lew Hoad, Fred Stolle, John Alexander, Phil Dent, Wally Masur, Robyn Ebbern, Jan Lehane and Gail Sherriff all represented their state in the Bruce Cup.

More recently Jason Stoltenberg, Pat Rafter, Mark Woodforde, Todd Woodbridge, Mark Phillippoussis, Scott Draper, Rachael McQuillian, and Alicia Molik have represented their state and performed with distinction on the international scene.

Many current Australian players including junior Wimbledon champions, Luke Saville and Ashley Barty have started their careers at the Bruce Cup.

WINNERS OF THE BRUCE CUP 1939-1962

Year	Winner
1939	New South Wales
1940 – 6	Not played due to World War II
1947	New South Wales
1948	New South Wales
1949	New South Wales
1950	Queensland
1951	New South Wales
1952	New South Wales
1953	New South Wales
1954	New South Wales
1955	New South Wales
1956	New South Wales
1957	New South Wales
1958	New South Wales
1959	New South Wales
1960	New South Wales
1961	New South Wales
1962	New South Wales

WINNERS OF THE BRUCE CUP 1963 – 2017

Year	Winner
1963	New South Wales
1964	New South Wales
1965	New South Wales
1966	New South Wales
1967	New South Wales
1968	Queensland
1969	Queensland
1970	New South Wales
1971	Queensland
1972	New South Wales
1973	New South Wales
1974	New South Wales
1975	New South Wales
1976	Queensland
1977	New South Wales
1978	Queensland
1979	Queensland
1980	Queensland
1981	Queensland
1982	New South Wales
1983	New South Wales
1984	New South Wales/ Queensland
1985	Queensland
1986	Queensland
1987	New South Wales
1988	Queensland
1989	Queensland
1990	South Australia
1991	New South Wales
1992	Queensland
1993	Queensland
1994	New South Wales
2014	Queensland
2015	Queensland
2016	Queensland
2017	New South Wales